Anders Wall Environment Award (in english)

Anders Wall Environment Award (in english)

Since 2002, the Anders Wall Foundation in association with Friends of the Countryside, DG Environment and the Royal Forestry and Agriculture Academy of Sweden have given an award each year to encourage and promote efforts made by creative entrepreneurs who have contributed to creating a «positive rural environment»: landscape preservation, biodiversity enhancement, cultural heritage conservation and contribution to the rural economy within the European Union.

FriendsCountrysideEligibility criteria:
Importance at local, national and European level is expected, use of quality instruments and management practices which contribute to the improvement of the quality of the environment.

Selection criteria:
Their achievements should preferably include the following elements:
Preserving and enhancing the landscape;
Providing biodiversity;
Preserving the countryside’s cultural heritage.

The landowner/manager of the selected project receives a prize of 20,000 €.

Award winners 2002-2019
2019    Baltzar Wachtmeister, Wanås Estate, Sweden
2018    Günther Graf von der Schulenburg, Schulenburg Estates, Germany
2017    Charles Burrell, Knepp Castle Estate, United Kingdom
2016    Evelyn Boscawen, Tregothnan Estate, United Kingdom
2015    José Maria Soares Franco och João Portugal Ramos, Castelo Melhor, Portugal
2014    Christophe Lenaerts, Brussels, Belgium
2013    Alexandra och Mikhail Orlov, Danilovka, Russia
2012    Karl Grotenfelt, Varkaus, Finland
2011    Madars Kalnins, Riga, Latvia
2010    Charles Forbes Adam, Escrick Park Estate, York, England
2009    Rudolf Tornérhielm, Wrams Gunnarstorp, Sweden
2006    Cassimazza, Italy
2005    Aigues-Mortes, Camargue, France
2004    Jacqueline Violet, France
2003    Herdante do Pinheiro, Portugal
2002    Thomas Harttung, Barritskov vid Vejle fjord, Denmark